Assessment – Creating a Rubric to evaluate E-Projects

Evaluating my e-project

For this mission I had to create a rubric to evaluate my e-project in which I have taken into consideration the key aspects, the expected progress and my own assessment criteria. Bearing in mind the recommendations of our teacher, my rubric consists of four elements:

  • The aspects of the learning process to be assessed: Quality Content, Spelling and Grammar, Teamwork, Innovation and Originality, Multimedia and Tools, Dissemination, and Accessibility.
  • The criteria that will be used, with a definition of each specific aspect to be assessed.
  • A scale of ratings, including 4 progressive ratings through which I will evaluate those aspects within the project. These ratings are: Beginning (Score: 0),  Developing (Score: 1), Developing (Score: 2), Accomplished (Score: 3), and Exemplary (Score: 4).
  • Clear and easy descriptions to concrete the performance levels.

Visiting the Playpen provided by our teacher, I found very interesting tools and tips for creating online rubrics. For example, most of my peers used Quick Rubric. However, I decided to create my own design as I preferred  to choose the colours and other features of the image of my rubric. Then, I started to create my rubric in a Microsoft Word document. I believe that creating a rubric in this way take a longer period of time, but you can personalise it depending on your needs. If you want to create your rubric using a Table in your Word Processing Software, what you have to do is to follow the next steps:

– Open a new document.

– Give a title to your rubric at the top of the page (For example, in my case: Rubric to evaluate e-projects)

– Add a space or two and go to TABLE in the top menu bar. Choose Insert—>Table. The new window that opens allows you to determine the number of columns and rows that you will need. Scales are usually found in the columns; in my case the scales range is composed by 4 levels. The components of the task are usually found in the rows; as I said before, I needed 6 of these to create my rubric. Don’t worry if you make a mistake on either of the numbers because you can always add and delete columns and rows later. When you save the settings, the table will appear on your page.

– Then, you can begin putting your scale and dimensions in the rows and columns. You have to decide if you want to have your scale move in increasing or decreasing values (for example, my rubric starts with lowest). Finally, add the dimension characteristics in the cells; these are the explanations of the parameters in the scale for each dimension. When you have finished creating your rubric, you only have to save it as a pdf document to maintain the format.

The more improvements you want in how your rubric looks, the more you will need to practice with tables. However, if you are used to work with this tool, you will create a clear and neat design in a few minutes.Give the rubric to your students when they begin their learning activity. You can make changes to your rubric if necessary and try it out again with your students.

Creating a rubric made me reflect about the importance of assessment. A rubric is a printed set of criteria for assessing knowledge, performance or product and for giving feedback. Taking into account different assessment methods, tools and instruments, I consider a rubric is ideal to assess knowledge, performance or product and to make explicit for students what is being assessed. At the same time, you can identify which areas may need improvements and extra support. Rubrics can be used to focus teaching and learning, involve students more closely in their assessment and also to develop students’ competence at self-assessment.

Would you like to see an example? Here you are my rubric to evaluate an e-project:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B6nFRizMTWq2M3lRTEVmZkFIR2c/view?usp=sharing

I used this rubric to evaluate the e-project I have participated with my group. You can see the results here:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B6nFRizMTWq2MUphRTFaTGg4Xzg/view?usp=sharing

There are many sites on the internet that can assist you in the creation of rubrics. But be careful when using rubrics developed by other people for other assessment tasks as they may not always fit with your assessment task. The best is to create your own rubric that matches with the key aspects of what you want to assess and your own assessment criteria.

What are you waiting to create your own rubric?

 

Leave a Reply

